University of California, Riverside

RCloud



Using R'Cloud


How to Use R'Cloud (powered by Syncplicity)

Syncplicity Support has compiled very thorough documentation and step-by-step instructions on how to use Syncplicity. Each section below will direct you to their help site for more information on the topic. 

Things to Keep in Mind

  • There is a character limit of 255 for a full file path for clients to sync information. 
  • Folder uploads can only be done through Chrome, no other web browser. 
  • It is recommended that large files, greater than 3GB, are synced, and not uploaded via the web browser. 
  • Currently, there is no client version available for Linux users. It is recommended to use a Windows or Mac Operating System to utilize the clients. Configuring a Windows or MAC VM on the Linux Desktop to make use of the clients is preferred. Otherwise, Linux users will need to use the Chrome Browser. 
  • Deleting a file or folder from the web browser does not delete the file or folder in the client. Deleting from the client does not delete from the web browser. 
  • When sharing a folder with an external (non UCR) user, that user will need to create a guest account. 
  • When sharing a file, links can be created for external users.
  • File links have a maximum validity of 30 days.
  • Deleting the Top level folder will remove it forever, there is no way to recover this folder. 

Guest Accounts

Sharing a folder with external users (non UCR) will prompt the external user to create a guest account. This guest account is free and will give the user 10GB of space. Files and folders you have shared with this external user will not count towards their 10 GB of space. 

* Guest Accounts are not required for file sharing to external users, only folders. 

File Retention and Revisions

  • Deleted file retention is 30 days
  • File version history: The last 10 revisions are retained, any revision greater than 10 has a 30 day retention

Top Level Folders and Their Differences

  • Renaming Top Level Folder: First, stop synchronizing the folder locally (desktop), delete the folder from sync cloud (web), rename the folder on the local side (desktop), and then re-sync the folder. 
  • Deletion: If deleted, the top level folder is gone forever, there is no way to recover this folder.  

How to Use the Web Version

The Syncplicity website tends to refer to an account as My Syncplicity. Please note that in the university's case, UCR's log in is at https://ucr.syncplicity.com. Everyone is encouraged to use the rcloud.ucr.edu portal. This is an organizational account. 

Folders and Files

Managing Folders and Files

Learn how to navigate and manage folders, work with files, and view files shared and files that are secured. 

Sharing Folders and Files

Learn how to share a folder, files, and manage shared links. 

How to Use the Desktop Client

Windows Client

For information on how to use the Windows Client for Syncplicity view their support site. 

Managing Folders and Files

Learn how to work with folders and files, search and filter your files, access file versions in the version history, delete folder, change the location of a synced folder, and view a secure shared file. 

Syncing and Unsyncing folders and files

Learn how to use "Add to Syncplicity" so that you can synchronize folders and the files within the folders. Note: Once the desktop client is added to your machine, you'll have a "Syncplicity" option when you right click a folder or file that has the ability to be synced. 

Add to Syncplicity

Once you have downloaded the Windows client, you'll have a Syncplicity option upon Right Click. Select 'Add to Syncplicity'. You'll also be able to share the folder. Note that if you do not see the Syncplicity option, that directory cannot be synced. 

Sharing Folders and Files

Learn how to share a file, share a folder, and manage shared links. 

Mac Client

For information on how to use the Mac Client for Syncplicity, view their support site. 

Managing Folders and Files

Learn how to view and manage folders and files, delete a folder, and view secure shared folders.

Synchronizing Folders and Files

Learn how to use "Add to Syncplicity" so that you can synchronize folders and files within the folders. This will also show how to unsync files and exclude folders and files. 

Add to Syncplicity Once you have downloaded the Mac client, you'll have a 'Share with Syncplicity' option under 'Share'. Note that if you do not see the Syncplicity option, it may be under "More..." or that directory cannot be synced. 
Sharing Folders and Files

Learn how to share a file, share a folder, and manage shared links. 

Understanding Synchronizing and Sharing Folders

You can synchronize folders between your computer and your Syncplicity account. When you synchronize, the content is stored in both your desktop and a Syncplicity cloud or a storage area designated by your IT department.

More information on Synchronizing & Sharing

 

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Footer